Local Government

The city of Boulder is led by a council-manager form of government with 9 council members serving 2- or 4-year terms. One member is chosen by the council to be mayor for a 2-year term. The city manager oversees day-to-day operations of the city and implements city council policies. Boulder County has three elected commissioners who serve 4-year terms.

2014 Tax Rates

The table below show tax rates for the city of Boulder. For more information, contact the City of Boulder’s Tax Division.

2014 Tax Rates
Sales Tax 8.36%
Use Tax 7.56%
Construction Use Tax 8.36%
Food Service 8.51%
Accommodation 12.30%
Admissions 5.00%

Note: includes city, county, RTD and state sales tax.


Electricity and natural gas in the Boulder area is provided by Xcel Energy. Commercial and industrial rates (PDF, 104KB) are competitive with other metropolitan areas.

Boulder and the state are committed to renewable energy. State law requires utilities to get 20% of their electricity from renewable resources by 2020. Xcel Energy provides a number of renewable energy programs for businesses and the City of Boulder and Boulder County encourage energy conservation through the ClimateSmart program.

Boulder was recently selected to be the first fully integrated smart grid city in the nation. Construction is in progress and represents a $100 million investment by Xcel Energy and its partners.

The City of Boulder’s Utilities Division manages water, wastewater and flood control.


Boulder’s location in the Mountain Time Zone makes it possible to have same day real-time connections around the globe. The metro Denver area is a national center for telecommunications and home to Qualcomm, Zayo Group, Verizon Business, Sprint and Level 3 Communications. Businesses have many choices for telecommunications services and the advantage of an extensive fiber optic network.